March Stitch Fix Review

office_stitchfix_logo

Stitch Fix is the first fashion retailer to blend expert styling, proprietary technology and unique product to deliver a shopping experience that is truly personalized for you. Simply fill out the Stitch Fix Style Profile and our personal stylists will handpick a selection of five clothing items and accessories unique to your taste, budget and lifestyle. Simply buy what you like and return the rest.” The cost is only $20 for each fix. You can schedule them to ship every week or even every other month. The $20 styling fee acts as credit that can be used toward purchasing items from your fix.

This was my first month trying out Stitch Fix. I was super excited to try this out, but was skeptical as I’d seen other fixes and wasn’t quite sure the stylists would find anything that would fit my style, while also choosing based on my body type. I was pleasantly surprised!

WHAT’S INSIDE:

DSC_2580

DSC_2576

Sherry Embroidery Detail Tab-Sleeve Top ($58) – The moment I saw this blouse(?) I hated it. Well, I guess hate is a strong word, but I really reaaaally disliked the embroidery, especially that ugly yellow right on the front. Yellow isn’t really my color, but I was trying to be open to more than just black, white, grey, and red. The blue embroidery I could do without, but it wasn’t bad enough to dislike it. I tried it on anyway, and was shocked. This top is super comfortable and soft, and had the perfect fit for my body. I usually stick to baby-doll tops to hide my midsection, but this cut and style works for me. I went from hating it to seriously considering keeping it. I’m still on the fence, only because I really really hate that yellow.

DSC_2577

DSC_2581

~ Mira Skinny Jean ($78) – When I pulled these out I thought they were some pretty ugly jeans. The waist band is completely unattractive, and the material is jegging-like. I tried them on and immediately wanted them. These jeans are high-waisted and suck in your muffin top. I never wear jeans, ever since I got pregnant almost three years ago. I find them uncomfortable and not at all flattering on me, but these I had to have. I figured nobody will see the ugly waist band, and I’d actually have jeans I feel comfortable in. The only thing holding me back is the $78 price tag.

DSC_2579

DSC_2584

~ Floria Split Back Knit Top ($48) – This was the first item I pulled out and I instantly liked it. The color is cute, and the floral back is just my style. It’s super soft and comfortable, but sadly, it isn’t very flattering on me. The back looks great, but the front just doesn’t do it for me, so sadly I had to pass on this.

DSC_2578

DSC_2582

~ Jace Chevron Print Dress ($68) – I’m a huge fan of chevron, anyone that knows me knows this. The stylist did a great job picking this for me; I can tell she paid attention to my Pinterest board and my notes. This dress fit me very well and was very flattering. Sadly, I’m not a fan of the bulky, heavy fabric it’s made out of. So I’m going to have to pass on this one as well.

DSC_2574

Sofia Hammered Square Collar Necklace ($32) – I asked for statement necklaces and my stylist definitely delivered. It’s chunky and bold, without being gaudy. I tend to be cheap when it comes to paying for jewelry though, so I passed on this.

MY THOUGHTS: I was very impressed with my first fix. This subscription box definitely does what it intends to, which is encourage you to try things you generally wouldn’t. I thought it was ironic that I plan on returning the items I could see myself picking out, but desperately want to keep the items I would never choose to try on if I had shopped for them myself. It’s such a great way to expand your style and your closet, while also having a few days to decide what you’d like to keep. I haven’t quite decided yet, but that’s only because I’m frugal and can’t justify spending too much on myself.

SIGN UP: Interested in trying Stitch Fix out for yourself? You can try your first month for free, plus a $20 credit, if you sign up before March 31st! Just click here and enter “riskfreemarch” at checkout!

Leave a Reply

