March Plated Review

Image

Plated is a meal subscription box that delivers chef-designed recipes and fresh ingredients to your door for you to prepare. It is perfect for finding new recipes to get you out of your dinner rut. I finally decided to try Plated while they offered a deal to get two meals for two people and three months of membership for just the cost of shipping, which was $20. I had wanted to try it for a while, so I jumped on this deal. I had mine delivered for March 12th, but it arrived at my door a day early. (Not complaining.)

Image

First Look

Everything came packaged perfectly with enough ice packs to keep everything fresh.

MY MEALS:

~ Linguine with Seared Tuna and Tapenade:

Image

Recipe Card

With each meal you get a recipe card. On the front if gives you definitions for cooking/food terms you may not already know. This was super helpful, since it saved me from having to google what Tapenade is made out of. It also gives you some cooking tips, a photo of the finished meal, the time it takes to prepare/cook, and the calories per serving.

On the back you get step by step instructions with photos on how to prepare your dish. For both meals, these instructions were super easy to follow.

Image

Ingredients

Image

Finished Dish

I was really excited to try this. My husband and I are fish lovers, and we’re already big fans of tuna steaks. I also love pasta, and I’m a sucker for anything with basil. I ended up not being a huge fan of this dish. The tapenade was okay, not my favorite, but it was nice to try something new. I’m not a big leaf eater, unless it’s basil or iceberg lettuce, so I didn’t really enjoy the arugula. I’m not sure if I’d make this again, probably not, but the tuna was delicious and I got to try some new things and new cooking techniques.

~ Spicy Soy Poached Pollock with Vermicelli Noodles:

Image

Recipe Card

 

Image

Ingredients

Image

Finished Dish

Sooo, this dish was phenomenal! I had never tried Pollock before, and I had also never poached anything, so there was a lot of newness going on here. I’ve seen a lot of complaints about Plated’s portions being really small. Maybe I’m not the “typical” American that thinks one serving is two pounds of fish and an entire box of noodles, but in my opinion there was plenty of food. I actually couldn’t even finish my meal, there was that much. I like spicy foods, and there was a good kick to this, but definitely not too spicy that it takes away from the dish. I wish this was a permanent meal option, because I’d order it twice a week. It was THAT good!

SIGN UP: Would you like to sign up for Plated and get two meals free? Sign up here, and use the code “7861B0″ to get $30 off your first delivery.

Leave a Reply

